Korean Stamp Portal Service K-stamp

Stamp tells exciting stories! Welcome to the Korean Stamp Portal System


home Stamp Collecting Information on Korean Stamps Stamp Gallery

left menu title

  • Information on Korean stamp
    • History
    • Stamp gallery
    • Stamp Issuance Program
  • K-stamp news
  • Philatelic Focus
    • K-stamp Focus
    • Stamp Story
    • K-stamp news

Stmap Gallery

Stamp Picture
zoom   Shopping
클릭하면 확대되어 보입니다. 클릭하면 확대되어 보입니다.
information on Korean stamp
Date of Issue : 2017.06.27
Types : 2
Denomination : 330 won
Design :
Stamp No. : 3211
Printing Process
& Colors
: null
Size of Stamp : 35 x 35
: (2 x 4) x 2
Image Area : 35 x 35
Paper : White Unwatermarked
Perforation : 13¼ x 13¼
Printer : Cartor for POSA
Designer : Kim, So-jeong
Quantity : null
The Korea Post has selected Kim Tong-ni and Pak Kyongni as the representative writers of modern Korean literature and issued commemorative stamps in honor of their achievements. Kim Tong-ni (1913-1995) was a representative writer of modern Korean literature since liberation. He favored traditional and native Korean themes and created novels with indigenous and ethnic materials. He started his literary ascent in 1934 when his poem “White Heron” was awarded at the Chosun Ilbo’s Annual Spring Literary Contest. He began to win fame as a novelist with the short novels “A Descendent of Hwarang” and “Forest Fire” that were awarded at the contests of the Joongang Ilbo and Dong-A Ilbo in 1935 and 1936, respectively. In pursuit of pure and neo-humanist literature, he explored the shamanistic and humanistic picturing conflicts between Korean native and foreign ideologies in his works. He left many short novels, such as “The Post Horse Curse” (1948), “A Life-sized Figure of the Buddha” (1961), and “Cry of Magpies” (1966) that were later compiled into the collections of short stories such as “The Portrait of Shaman” (1947), “A Life-sized Figure of the Buddha” (1963), and “The Rock” (1973) along with many other anthologies. Kim won the Freedom Literature Prize of the Asia Foundation, the Literary Prize of the National Academy of Arts of the Republic of Korea, and the 3.1 Culture Prize. He was also awarded the Dongbaek Medal and Moran Medal of the Order of Civil Merit of Korea. Pak Kyongni (1926-2008) is the author of “The Land”, an epic novel that marked a new era in Korean modern literature. In 1955, Pak made her debut in letters with the short story “Calculations” published in the literary magazine “Hyundae Munhak”. She built her literary career publishing short stories such as “Scissors” and “Time of Distrust” in 1957 and a novel “Pyoryudo” in 1959. Starting from 1962, Pak completed a series of works illustrating the tragedy of the war and criticizing the absurdity of the times such as “The Daughters of Pharmacist Kim”, “The Market and War field” (1964) and “Pasi” (1965). Especially, The Land, which is composed of five parts that took her 26 years to complete, from 1969 to 1994, is evaluated as a monumental saga of Korean literature that dealt with the sorrowful history of the Korean People by depicting the suffering and fates imposed on various classes in Korea during the turbulent modern history. She was awarded the Hyundae Munhak Best New Writer Award (1957), the Best Korean Lady Writer Award (1965), the Woltan Literature Award (1972), and the Gabriela Mistral Memorial Medal (1996). She was also selected as one of the 20th Century`s Greatest Korean Artists (1999) and was posthumously awarded the Geumgwan Medal of the Order of Cultural Merit of Korea (2008).